Assignments

Introduction

Hi there! My name is Kristen, and I’ll be joining the online section of ART200x for the Spring 2017 semester. I currently live in Homer, Alaska with my husband after having lived in Fairbanks for eight long winters. Although I completed the Bachelor of Fine Arts curriculum on campus, I am returning through the eLearning department to tie up some loose ends and pursue new certifications for the health care field. It feels weird being a student again, but it’s coming back quickly.

My preferences in art definitely tend toward the two-dimensional side of things, as my focus in the UAF Art Department was printmaking and painting. I also had the fortune of working at the University of Alaska Museum of the North when I physically attended UAF, and I’d rank it as one of the best jobs I’ve had. Who wouldn’t love being surrounded by art all day and getting paid for it?

Artists that have continually held their greatest influence over me and my work include Hokusai, Hiroshige, Alphonse Mucha, Audrey Kawasaki and Camilla d’Errico. I definitely see a lot of overlap in design elements between Japanese printmaking, art nouveau and pop surrealism.

mfl_seasons_1896_series_21

Alphonse Mucha, The Seasons (Series) (1896) (Foundation)

JP1847

Katsushika Hokusai, The Great Wave off Kanagawa (Kanagawa oki nami ura), from the series Thirty-six Views of Mount Fuji (Fugaku sanjurokkei), (c. 1830–32), Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, polychrome woodblock print, (25.7 x 37.9 cm).

Here is a video series about the history and techniques of various printmaking processes. I have done relief and intaglio printing, though was not fortunate enough to do lithography at UAF. Both of the above images are prints; The Seasons is a lithograph series, and The Great Wave off Kanagawa is a woodblock print.

Over the years since I have been away from UAF, I have been teaching myself digital illustration and photography. Homer has a flourishing arts community that ranges from fine arts galleries, community public artworks, a folk school and of course, First Fridays. I have the great fortune of living right across the street from a popular beach in town, and I see lots of temporary art made by other beachgoers before the tide reclaims them. Very serious Andy Goldsworthy inspiration down here!

I look forward to immersing myself in the academic side of art again this spring. Cheers!

 

Works Cited

Foundation, M. (no date) The seasons (series) – browse works – gallery. Available at: http://www.muchafoundation.org/gallery/browse-works/object/80 (Accessed: 18 January 2017).
Nigro, P. (1996) Off Kanagawa: Isolation, identity, and immortality in Hokusai’s great wave. Available at: http://arthistory.us/display.php?eid=31 (Accessed: 18 January 2017).
KhanAcademy (no date) Introduction to printmaking. Available at: https://www.khanacademy.org/humanities/art-history-basics/artists-materials-techniques/printmaking/v/moma-printmaking-01 (Accessed: 18 January 2017).
6 thoughts on “Introduction

  1. Woah! You sure know your stuff. I’m selfishly excited to read your blog because I feel like you’ll have some excellent insight and ideas to share.

    Like

  2. I didn’t know there was an art community in Homer, sounds like there’s a lot to see the next time I’m down there! It’s one of my favorite places in Alaska, I’m jealous!

    Like

Leave a Reply

